Melbourne Day 1 – Getting Around

Flew to Melbourne lately. It was an impromptu trip. Hubby was assigned to work in Melbourne for a week, I just tagged along to save on accommodation and a few meals which were claimed to his company (sssh~)! While he’s at work, I toured around myself, and I had fun traveling alone!

Before flying off, I had a few concerns,

Checking in my breastmilk
Pumping on plane and in public
Freezing my breastmilk
Phototaking (Selfie)

I must be lucky that everything turned on pretty smooth! Shall blog about me pumping in Melbourne in a separate blogpost. I’m just going to emphasize on taking selfie!

Thanks to sponsorship from selfiesticksg.com. My selfie stick came just in time for me to explore its convenience in Melbourne!

Okay so I book the same flight as hubby to Melbourne.

While crossing the airport custom, my handcarry bag was scanned to contain suspicious item, which turned out to be my selfie stick! Oopsie! But no issue, I was still allowed to pass with my selfie stick, just that it caused a delay in the queue.

Just before landing at Tullamarine airport, my camera was spoilt! Ho sey la! I could only survive my trip using my phone (Samsaung S4) camera. Luckily I brought along a spare battery! You’ll be surprised how terrific the phone camera is! Of course, the surrounding lighting play apart in the photography.

Sunrise shot taken before landing. The fluffy clouds below me looked like a pot of steam with volcano lava boiling inside.

There’s nothing much at Tullamarine airport. The most important counter was the mobile service provider counter. LOL! Being a social media platform user, I would want to have access to the internet all the time, especially when travelling overseas! And of course to stay in touch with hubby since we would be apart most of the times, just to make sure I would not be lost elsewhere~

And so we bought the AUD$2/day SIM card. The minimum number of days to buy was 5 days, which we bought, but surprisingly, the usage was extended to the 8-9th day! *Happy max*

Anyway, there was free wifi at the airport and was very easy to login, unlike SG, still need to register. Tsk!

There were free phone booths to call for shuttle service from a few hotels. Ours was complimentary.

There’s also an information counter at the airport, just outside the arrival hall. That’s where I booked my day tours to Philip Island, Great Ocean Road, and Puffing Billy train ride. The staff was very helpful and assisted to plan my itinerary for the day tours.

To get to the city (Southern Cross Railway Station) will need to take the Sky Bus, which cost AUD$30/pax for a round trip. Tickets can be bought from the airport information counter, the departure terminal at the airport, or Southern Cross Railway Station. The ride takes 30 mins, with no stops during the journey.

Once alighting at Southern Cross, follow this Hungry Jacks signage to exit the station, before getting into the main street.

Staircase at Southern Cross Railway Station. I’m quite impressed with the staircase, it’s like one of the perfect shot for Instagram.

From Southern Cross, it’s pretty easy to walk into the bustling street like Bourke Street where the malls are.

We didn’t bought their Myki-card (instead of MRT, their is Yarra Tram on the road). Haha, we (even when I was alone) walked throughout the whole trip!

The good thing is, there’s a City Circle tram, free for everyone including tourists! Interval for the City Circle tram was very short, maybe like 5 minutes only! Each station is very near another station, so no worries if you overshot, it’s a short distance to walk back ya. But this free tram can be very crowded on a working day evening where everyone knocks off from work.

The free tram covers most of the tourist attraction places in Melbourne City. For places outside city, good to rent a car and self-drive, or join a day tour where pick-up locations are in the city.

As I stayed outside the city and had to get to Southern Cross whenever I headed to the city, I chose a pick-up location at Vibe Savoy Hotel which is less than a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross.

It was almost end of Winter in Melbourne. I thought deciduous trees looked very pretty.

And so Hubby and I just navigate using the maps gotten at the airport. We thought of checking out the GPO where the H&M hype was. It’s at Bourke Street and we found it very easily.

And then we realized Bourke Street was the most happening street, where most shopping could be done here.

The public purse.

I was carrying my trusty backpack bought from Taobao. You’ll be surprised what I put inside. Will share it in a separate blogpost.

I didn’t know what’s special about it, hubby just told me take a photo with it. It’s prolly some art piece at Bourke Street. Anyway, there were lotsa graffiti (arts?) in Melbourne streets.

And here we were, taking photo using my sponsored selfie stick! Thanks to selfiesticksg.com! If not for the selfie stick, there’s no way I could take a photo with hubby together with the graffiti as backdrop!

This photo isn’t about arts. I was just trying to take an artistic photo of this alley. LOL!

We were late for lunch and decided to head for my first cafe-to-try, Brunetti.

It was about 3pm on a Sunday, and the cafe was fully packed. Needed awhile to grab two seats, and another short while to queue for the food.

Brunetti served alot of cakes! I had a hard time deciding what to order!

We had pizza, cakes and macarons.

We didn’t feel very full, but it’s late lunch and we still had to go for dinner later on. So we (or rather it’s me, hubby would usually follow what I wanted to eat) just made do with these.

We went to the Royal Arcade.

The Royal Arcade is a significant Victorian era building and is a part of the Victorian Heritage Register.

Look what we found!

The Little Royal Macarons!

Hubby told me these macarons had been tried by the Running Man! So it must be good!

Before we left, another selfie!

Sky turned dark at 6pm and it’s our first day at Melbourne. Hubby didn’t want to stay out too late, especially he had to get up for work the next day. So we left the city.

Back at the hotel room,

I applied body lotion vigorously. The weather’s cold and dry in Melbourne.  I could feel my skin was getting dry and might crack anytime.

Dirty Works body lotion helped!

Leave a Reply

