My Experience with Shunji Matsuo

Got my hair colour fix with Shunji Matsuo a couple of weeks ago.

Prior to the hair session, I have went to another hair salon to colour my hair black. The reason why I chose black was to make my hair look more voluminous. However somehow the colour wasn’t long lasting and my hair were back to brownish again, especially the hair ends were looking like light orangy brown and dry.


My hair condition before visiting Shunji Matsuo.

Fanny, from Shunji Matsuo (Ngee Ann City outlet) totally understood what my hair was lacking of, the natural shine and volume. Fanny knew my concern was not about fancy colours. Very much I was wishing for an ombre dye, it just didn’t suit my hair at this point of time.

Having a 9-year experience in the hair industry, Fanny said most colours would suit my skintone, and recommended me a 2-tone colour, dark red brown & yellow beige.

Dark red brown is mainly on my hair top and top hair layers to make my hair look a little thicker, while the yellow beige in the under layers are to add a little shine to my hair. Anyway, a 1-tone colour will be too boring right?

Fanny also gave me a hair colour treatment after the hair colouring session.

Masking my hair has never been so relaxing for me. I had my hairmask and hair steam while lying comfortable on their Yume chair with adjustable basin that provide better support and fit during hair treatment! Can fall asleep without having to worry about knocking the head on those hair steamer that has the shape of a helmet~

After my hair treatment, Fanny gave some curls to my hair using curling tongs.

The curls actually lasted quite well till end of the day.

I am now having some thoughts of buying a curling tong after seeing the beautiful curls created by Fanny.

Before

After

Most hair dye tends to dry up the hair, but after my session with Shunji Matsuo, my hair condition seems to have improved! The hair ends are less frizzy.

Incase you are not looking at hair treatment after a hairdye, Shunji Matsuo offers this new Arimino Caretrico Hair Treatment that provides deep moisturization and nutrients for hair, helping to achieve and maintain healthy and shiny hair. It also repairs damaged hair conditions such as dry and brittle hair, frizzy hair or fine hair.

This treatment is specially customized and formulated to suit and treat individual hair conditions.

Process of Arimino Caretrico Hair Treatment:

1. A stylist first thoroughly examines the hair condition and determines the formulation of the treatment. Depending on the formulation, the various care essences are added into the base treatment to create the customized treatment.

  • Type S-2 provides volume boost for fine hair
  • Type H-2 provides rich, deep conditioning for intense softness and frizz control on dry, brittle hair.
  • Heatless liquid is suitable for all hair conditions such as coloured hair or curling hair.

2. Hair is sprayed with the steamer to open up hair cuticles for 15 minutes, which enables better absorption of nutrients from the treatment.

3. Customized treatment-formulation is then applied onto hair.

4. 15 minutes later, the treatment is rinsed off and a leave-in coating treatment is applied onto hair.

5. Blow dry hair.

Total treatment only takes about 45 minutes.

Located in the heart of Singapore’s shopping and lifestyle hub, on the 5th floor of Ngee Ann City, Shunji Matsuo Hair Studio is an epitome of modern Japanese design and space. The expansive 3,800-square-foot features contemporary furnishings from Japan designed for comfort.

Warm and welcoming, the new salon has clearly defined cutting, styling, washing, treatment and colouring areas with a colour bar for customised consultation, where hair colours are matched to individual skin tone.

Shunji Matsuo Hair Studio
Ngee Ann City, Podium B
391 Orchard Road
#05-23
Singapore 238 87

Business hours:  +65 6238 1522.

Leave a Reply

