Exclusive Maybelline Bloggers’ Event – Showcasing 4 New Products!

On March and April this year, Maybelline SG is going to launch 4 new cosmetics which serve as the basic make up kit to set your make up anytime!

  1. Maybelline Clear Smooth BB UV White
  2. Maybelline Jelly Glow Blush
  3. Maybelline Volume Express Magnum Ultra Comb Waterproof Mascara
  4. Maybelline Master Liner White

Let’s start with foundation.

In 2011, Maybelline has got Pure Mineral BB Mouse Instant Pore Eraser and Clear Smooth BB Cream (review here) out in stores, this year, Clear Smooth BB UV White is launched for those who want better sun protection and brightening properties.

Pure Mineral BB Mouse Instant Pore Eraser uses a technology which involves Micro Air Bubbles to conceal the pores on the skin. Clear Smooth BB Cream focus on hydration, radiance, smoothness coverage.

Clear Smooth UV BB White is launched specially for the sunshine babes who loves the sun or gets under the sun frequently. Its brightening formula helps to reduce pigmentation.

BB UV White comes in 2 shades. I didn’t get to try out 01 Light shade so I did a swatch on 02 Natural shade.

Texture-wise, it’s very light and is easily glided on the skin evenly. Coverage is not bad, able to conceal imperfections on the skin. As for pigmentation, visibility of freckles was reduced.

I gave 02 Natural to mum who fell in love with BB UV White upon her first application. Her face looked brightened up with a natural glow. She has always loved foundation which gives glow and radiance to her aging skin, so right now BB UV White is her new found love. 

Just like Clear Smooth BB Cream, Clear Smooth BB UV White also comes in 8 properties:

  • High UV Protection (SPF 50, PA+++)
  • Evens skin tone
  • Visibly lightens skin tone
  • Smooths pores
  • Corrects the appearance of dark spots
  • More hydrated skin
  • Conceals imperfections
  • All day coverage, long lasting

These 8 properties make BB UV White All-in-1 thing and it’s a sunblock-cum-skincare-cum-foundation! It’s definitely a keep on my dressing table, sure to come in handy when I am in a rush for time!

To add some rosiness to the cheeks, Maybelline is launching Jelly Glow Blush which comes in jelly texture! There will a total of 4 shades available in the stores.

I have only managed to snap two shades, 02 and 04. If I am not wrong, the other two shades will be close to brown and orange.

The texture is much softer than cream blusher, but it feels extremely smooth! I use my middle finger to dab the Jelly Glow Blush onto my cheeks, and slowly blend them outwards.

Aren’t the Jelly Glow Blush cute? They can be so conveniently carried everywhere for an emergency use!

I love the rosy glow the blusher leaves on my cheeks after blending.

Below’s a closer shot of my blushed cheeks, taken after eye makeup was done.

Quoted from Larry Yeo, local renowned makeup artist:
“I love this bouncy sponge texture! There are so many colour tones for all skin colours! Create the prefect cutesy cheek flush by giving yourself a big smile! Dab the jelly upon the apple of the cheeks and soften the ends out with your finger. Tip: Layer your lashes with The Falsies mascara and use a soft pink from ColourSensational…Oh wow..you are the Kawaii princess now!”

There’s no worry about the blusher fading after a few hours. It’s very long-lasting for up to 6 hours! This is sufficient for me as I tend to touch my makeup after 4-5 hours.

As the saying goes, eyes are the windows to our souls. It’s important to know how to enhance your eye makeup, to give yourself a fresh and lively look. (I am still learning how!)

Introducing the Maybelline Volume Express Magnum Ultra Comb Waterproof Mascara. Maybelline has previously launched a few Magnum mascara but this one is going to be different from the rest.

Some key points of this mascara are:

  • Its Collagen-rich Formula in the waterproof mascara coats. Rubbing the eyes will not wear off the mascara coats.
  • Water-resistible, tear-resistable, sebum-resistable.
  • Its Ultra Comb applicator comes in a curve that is designed to fit Asian eyes, able to coat from root to tip evenly.
  • Volumized each eyelash 7 times its volume without making the eyelashes heavy!
  • Clumping is minimized.
  • Suitable for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers.

Maybelline has previously launched a few mascara but I have yet to try any of it. My mum have tried a few and is always satisfied with the results. She even bought the Hello Kitty one, Volume Express Cat Eyes Mascara (waterproof)! Well, my mum is quite trendy incase you aren’t aware of it.

Here I am trying out this Maybelline Volume Express Magnum Ultra Comb Waterproof Mascara.

Its sleek Ultra Comb applicator looks interesting with the convex curve. Application on my bottom eyelashes has never been so much easier with the Ultra Comb applicator!

Applying two coats were not enough for me. Though there was no clumps, but my eyelashes were not volumized enough.

I tried to carry on with more coats.

For optimum result, apply each coat on top of another when the eyelash is semi-dry. This way helps to minimize clumping and gives a good definition of the black eyelashes.

Below are some snaphots which I took, no eyelash curler was used before mascara application.

I was impressed with the lengthened and volumized effects on my eyelashes.

Throughout the day, there was not smudges, and the mascara coats were easily removed with point makeup remover. Despite no eyelash curler was used, I was surprised that my eyelashes were able to lift up well.

To finish off the makeup look, a white eyeliner for the waterline will help to brighten up the eyes better!

I have always loved white eyeliner, it somehow helps to brighten/open up my eyes, be it I apply on the inner corners of my eyes or waterlines.

Tear-look seems to be very attractive to me, and white is like the only colour which suits my dark-circled eyes.

Maybelline Masterline White comes in a crayon-like texture. When comes to sharpening, it will be good if you can sharpen the tip so as to achieve easy drawing on waterline.

I had only swatch lightly to see how intense the white could appear. It turned out to be not bad!

Maybelline Masterline White is formulated with nylon and waxes that are rich in pigments, and this explains the intense white line. The crayon tip feels soft and gentle while drawing on my waterline.

The best of all, it’s waterproof and smudge-proof!

Drawing on the waterline was smooth and easy. There wasn’t any discomfort on my eyes, I first use a cotton bud to remove any excess sebum on my waterline, then I started drawing on my water line, and I was done in a breeze! The more layers I drew, the more intense the white line effect was!

Before using Maybelline Masterline White, I was using Canmake pencil eyeliner in glittering white. The gliding wasn’t smooth and many times, my waterline was drawn unevenly. I gave up on rely on eyeshadow.

Now that I have Maybelline Masterline White, I am feeling with great joy inside me! For those who loves kawaii look, this is a must-have item in your makeup pouch!

Here’s an illustration from Maybelline, showing you the before and after using Masterline White. Notice how the white liner helps to brighten up the eyes?


Photo from Maybelline.

It’s not just me who was excited about the coming up makeup from Maybelline!

So many bloggers and fans of Maybelline were at the event to witness the wonders of these makeup!


Photo from Yvonne’s FB, thanks for tagging me!

 

We were entertained with fashion show from Love, Bonito, indulging ourselves with yummy food.

Some outfits which were showcased at the event:

Nice ambiance at Covelli!

And we got the chance to see an art piece by one of our local artist, Mas, who was damn good with colours and drawings!

I went home with the products and tried them on myself! The time spent in applying them was so much lesser than what I had spent on previously. Applying makeup with these 4 basic items was a breeze!

Here’s snapshot of my using the Jelly Glow Blush in 02, Volume Express Magnum Ultra Comb Waterproof Mascara and Master Liner White!

You won’t want to go on a date with them!

Price List & Availability

  • Maybelline B.B UV White – SGD17.90 (March 2012 onwards)
  • Maybelline Jelly Glow Blush – SGD15.90 (April 2012 onwards)
  • Maybelline Volume Express Magnum Ultra Comb Waterproof Mascara – SGD19.90 (April 2012 onwards)
  • Maybelline Masterliner White – SGD11.90 (April 2012 onwards)

Available at Watsons, Guardian, SASA, major supermarkets and hypermarkets and selected departmental stores.

Leave a Reply

