#Review# Super Hair Removal

Recently I had a complimentary hair removal treatment at David Loh Surgery. This was my first underarm hair removal treatment in an aesthetic clinic and I was alittle worried if pain would be involved. =/

It was a quick and painless process which can remove the unwanted hair using Super Hair Removal (SHR) technology.

The theory behind permanent hair removal is that the hair follicles’ structures being darker (more pigmented) than the surrounding skin, will absorb more light or laser energy than the surrounding skin. Heat therefore builds up faster at the hair follicles than the surrounding skin. As such we are able to “selectively” destroy unwanted hair.

SHR is different from IPL (Intense Pulsed Light) because it is not a laser treatment which explains why SHR can be used on darker skin and is painless. SHR makes use of broad-spectrum light to warm up and destroy hair follicles without damaging the surrounding skin. Once the hair follicles are destroyed, no more new hair will be grown.

SHR may be a new treatment but based on its history of being used in more than 20 countries for the past 5 years, SHR is definitely a safe permanent hair removal treatment.

Glad to say it’s REALLY a painless experience.

I had very few hair at my underarms, each underarm required about 3-4 zaps during the session.

This new invention is targeting on permanent hair removal. But do not expect it to happen in just one session. This is because of hair’s growth cycle.

While the current session is taking place, there are new hair starting to grow under the skin, there are also some “sleeping” or in between both. These new hair can only be zapped off in the next few sessions because SHR (or IPL) can zap only the hair in the growing phase.

Depends on individual, for me, I’ll prolly need about 3-4 sessions to permanently remove my underarm hair.

There isn’t a lot of meat at my underarms, but then this does not mean that the light and warm heat emitted to my skin will be painful.

I felt light pricks during the zaps, bearable pricks, not pain.

As for the heat, it got a little warm during the 3rd and 4th zap, that’s when I told the nurse about the warm heat and that’s also the last zap on each underarm. Anyway before the zap, a cold gel was applied to my underarms, and that sort of lessen the warmness on my skin.

The nurse who was attending to me was professional enough to take care of me during my treatment. She explained to me very clearly what I would be expecting and she knew her stuff very well. Every question I asked, she was able to answer me. She sort of gave me full confidence before we proceeded with the treatment. Like I said earlier, I was feeling a little worried about the whole process, but I guess that was really a unnecessary excitement. =)

After all the zaps, the nurse would wiped off the remaining gel on my underarms. The treatment took no more than 10 minutes and I was good to go.

When I went home, I waited for a 1-2 days for the hair to drop off by themselves, but I didn’t have enough patience and in the end, I plucked off them after 3-4 days.

It has been a few weeks and there isn’t any new fully grown hair on my underarm now!! AMAZING!

As for fine hair, hmm, maybe 1-3 strands? I don’t know, my underarms feel very clean now, I can hardly feel any hair there!

Seems like 1 session for me was able to remove most of the underarm hair and now the “sleeping” ones are still “sleeping” ?

I feel good!

Something to take note
In theory, once the hair follicle is destroyed, it will never grow again. In real life some of the cells in the skin can regenerate hair follicles that have been destroyed by Laser, IPL or SHR. So, over time, even after the best hair removal treatment, some fine hairs regenerate. But we are talking about months or years later. So some doctors have preferred to call hair removal – hair reduction – in order not to give the patients too unrealistic an expectation. But whether it is reduction or removal, we are talking about the same thing – 80%-90% reduction that may need touchups yearly.

Services
SHR technology is suitable to be used on both the face and body. An underarm hair removal session which I had above, costs SGD200.

Some other hair removal services provided at David Loh’s clinic are:
Half Arms – SGD300
Full Arms – SGD600
Upper Lip/Moustache – SGD80
Chin – sgd100
Jaw line & Chin – SGD180

More prices can be found HERE.

Dr David Loh Surgery is located at:
541 Orchard Road
#11-01 Liat Towers
Singapore 238881Tel: 67339114

Leave a Reply

